Our Pretty Little Peanut & the Phoenix Half Marathon

Is anyone else feeling totally blah that Christmas is over? I’m still shocked that in less than a week it’s going to be 2013 already! Seriously, where does the time go?

With that said, I AM pretty excited because Justin and I are taking a short weekend trip to San Diego to spend some quality time with Peanut. (okay, okay, I know what you’re thinking…when are you NOT spending quality time with Peanut?) And the answer is that we totally are, every single second that we are home…but she’s our fur baby and I’m totally okay with being that weirdly obsessed doggy mommy. 🙂

I just hope that she knows how spoiled she is. We planned an entire vacation around her!

Since I’m just getting back into the swing of things with blogging, I’ll share with you a few pics of our crazy but adorably cute dog, Peanut.

peanut 1

Peanut 2

Peanut 3

(Now do you understand why we’d plan an entire vacation around her? Yep. I thought you would.)

In other news…I’m currently training for the The Phoenix Half Marathon on March 2. This will be my first 1/2 marathon to date and while I feel comfortable running up to 8 miles or so, something about that 13.1 has me shaking in my boots. I’m following a very modified version of Hal Higdon’s novice training plan and so far, so good. I’m more going for meeting my weekly mileage than sticking to the day-to-day plan since at this point, I sorta know my body and know that I can complete a 10-12K race at this point in my fitness with not much of a problem. BUT that doesn’t mean that I’m still not intimidated at the thought of running 13.1 miles. I still by no means really consider myself a true runner…though judging from what my friends and family say, at this point I need to get over that hump. Meh, we’ll see! 🙂 So my point? Follow along! I’m posting all my workouts on Daily Mile! You can find me here at The Daily Mile.

In yet another tidbit of random news, I’m really dying to join/start/whatever a book club! I came across this post today on The Saucy Apple and it really reminded me that while I do love to read, I really just need a little external motivation to keep me accountable to finish a book.
Once I start, there is usually no turning back, so I’m pretty sure a book club would be just the trick I need. Side note: I may or may not be one of those annoying people who likes to start 3 or 4 books at a time and bounce back and forth between them. Drives my best friend NUTS!

So what’s new with you? Are you training for a new to you race? Starting or joining a new book club?

MM

2 thoughts on “Our Pretty Little Peanut & the Phoenix Half Marathon

  1. Jess @ Three Men and a Mommy

    I ran my first half marathon last year and I was so nervous…until it was over 🙂
    I listen to books while running…some people think it’s insane (like my husband) but it makes me feel like I’m doing two productive things at once!
    I joined a bookclub on meetup.com which seemed so intimidating at the time, but it turned out to be an amazing group of people. I look forward to it all month!

    Reply
  2. Haley @ The Saucy Apple

    I’m following that same training plan! I’m really liking it so far. I’m currently in the middle of week 4. Also, when I read the title of your post, I thought you were going to say you were pregnant. Ha! Little Peanut = Baby. But no, you’re talking about your dog… and in my house Dog = Baby, too, so no judgment on your vacation here. I’m totally jealous that you’re going to San Diego by the way. I’ve never been. Take lots of pics! And have fun. 🙂

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

