A Great Day To Be A Lion

Hi everyone! I can’t believe I’ve been gone for a week again! Work has totally taken over my life…and I’ve been working more than I’ve been sleeping or doing anything else! Work, work, work, all I do is work!

Oh well, gotta do whatcha gotta do!

Anyway, because I worked like crazy last week, I didn’t run a single day! So I laced up my sneakers and went for a 3.3 mile run yesterday…it was alright. I think I could have kept trucking along if I wouldn’t have had a side ache, on BOTH sides. Oh well, there is always next time.

And speaking of next time, guess what I just ordered?

The Garmin Forerunner 110! Yay! I’m so excited to start running outside again. The weather here in Phoenix is just about to cool down and it’ll be perfect for outdoor running. Plus! If all goes as planned (fingers crossed!) we’ll be in our new house by the first week in October (more to come on that in a future post), which means good bye workout room in our apartment complex, hello outdoor running!

I know most people prefer the Garmin 305, but I just couldn’t buy that knowing the size of it. I have tiny wrists and the Garmin 110 is much smaller and have the basic features that I need. Distance, average pace/mile and time. That’s really all I need because let’s be real here, I’m not beginner when it comes to this running business.

Speaking of running…Justin and I will be participating in the Moon Valley Grasshopper Bridge 5K on Saturday! I’m so excited to have my Garmin during the race! Last weekend during the I Did A (Green) Race 5K I had no idea how fast I was going and that was tough. It’s hard to push yourself a little farther, faster, harder when you have no idea if you’re close to making your goal time, or not. I’m looking forward to having technology on my side this upcoming weekend.

So anyway, today is Sunday! And Sunday means football in our house. We are huge Detroit Lions fans and today was a good day to be a Lion! We headed up to Buffalo Wild Wings to watch the game because we don’t get it on TV out here in Phoenix, and much to our enjoyment the Lions took home an easy win!

Came home and made a pretty big smoothie to help with dehydration.

In the mix:

Strawberries (frozen)
Raspberries (frozen)
Vanilla Yogurt – about 1/3 cup
Milk – about 1/2 cup
Ice

Easy Peasy! 🙂 and oh so gooood!

I also snacked on a new Odwalla bar I picked up at the store the other night, White Chocolate Macadamia…

It was good! A little sweet but the perfect mix of sweet and nutty…definitely would do the trick to satisfy a sweet tooth. I think I’ll be grabbing a few more of these the next time I pick up some groceries.

The rest of our day is up in the air. I’m debating going for a run, not setting any sort of mileage goal and just running as far and as fast as my body will let me. Sometimes, I think that’s best. I find that when I don’t have a mileage goal hanging over my head, it’s easier for me to just keep on going…it’s more about wanting to run that far than feeling like I have to.

Justin is saying we should go lay by the pool but lately, I just haven’t been feeling it. I’d rather stay inside, read a book, or get some work done than lay outside…weird? I think so, but oh well. I live in Arizona, it’s sunny every day here!

So tell me, how did you spend your weekend? Was it pretty low-key like ours or did you have big plans?

2 thoughts on “A Great Day To Be A Lion

  1. Ari @ Ari's Menu

    I want to hear how you like your Garmin! I was eying some heart rate monitor’s/pace keepers/etc at Sports Authority the other day, and I’m thinking about buying one soon. Enjoy the rest of your weekend! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Carolyn

    I am excited to hear how you like the Garmin 110 once you have used it a few times. I am debating one for over a year but haven’t been able to justify it.
    Big weekend for me – I completed my first duathlon and ran 6 miles for the first time!! Now I know I can get through the Iron Girl 10K in December.

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

