Feel The Rain

Happy Saturday everyone! For me, Saturday started out pretty typically. Woke up, ate a quick bowl of cereal and headed out to my favorite Saturday morning Vinyasa Flow class.

During class our instructor was talking a lot about being present and content in the moment. Right before we move from our opening meditation in class, she always leaves us with a thought, something to hold on to during the rest of class…

The great Bob Marley said it best “Some people feel the rain. Others, just get wet.” So today, as we move through each pose, I’m going to challenge you to be present…feel your pinky toes in triangle pose and feel your bottom lip in dancer. Live in each moment, in each pose and respect it for what it is. Whether or not you like it.

Today’s mantra really made me think. We are all stuck in a constant state of decision. Should I get up or go back to sleep? Should I go for a run or sit on the couch? What should I eat for dinner? You get the point. But really, the bigger point…is that we OWN our lives and we OWN our decisions. It’s not so much about being right when we make a decision, but about living it, experiencing whatever situation that decision brought you to. Loving it, hating it, feeling indifferent. It really isn’t important. What IS important is that you’ve experienced it. You’ve learned something from it.

You’ve felt the rain.

And after every rain, eventually, there will be sunshine.


And with that, Justin and I decided to run an impromptu 5k tomorrow morning.

The ‘I Did A Green Run 5K’ at Reach 11 Park in Phoenix. Since we just decided to do this today, We’ll be up bright and early to get there by 6 am to register. Race starts at 7:15am, sharp! I’m excited! And since we were near a mall when we decided we were going to run. I ran into the mall and found myself a new race outfit! (New clothes make everything better, right?)

The rest of tonight will be spent watching US Open Tennis on TV (Go Wozniacki!!!) Getting everything together and prepared for our race tomorrow, including whipping up some overnight oats…and relaxing!

I hope everyone is having a great Saturday so far! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Feel The Rain

    1. Eyes

      My first (and only) half marathon was the Chicago Rock n’ Roll Half and I fell in love with the RnR seeirs! It’s a GREAT first half marathon experience, I’m excited for you!!!

      Reply
  1. Ari @ Ari's Menu

    Where do you take yoga? I really want to make yoga more a part of my life! Also, that’s awesome about tomorrow’s run. I am doing the Susan Komen 5K in October as my first race ever and I’m excited and nerrrrvous. Let us know how it goes tomorrow! :O)

    Reply
    1. marielmoves Post author

      I practice at Yoga Pura on 7th St. Near Bell. Saturday mornings at 9 or Wednesday evenings at 730 with Jen B. Love her classes! However all of their teachers are great! We are moving soon though, so I’ll need to find a new place! Where are you located in the valley? I have gone to a few places in Chandler near my work that are good too! πŸ™‚ thanks for the race wishes! Race recap to come tomorrow!

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

