The (future) Kelley’s are condo hunting!

Today was a super busy day at work. I wanted to get out of the office on time to get home and head to yoga. That didn’t happen, so I did the next best thing…ordered pizza and relaxed on the couch! Whoops! Oh well, I deserve the relaxation! Tomorrow I plan to get a morning run in again, maybe 4 miles. I need to start keeping up with my mileage for my upcoming 10K on November 6th. I know that is a while away but the more in shape and confident I am, the better!

But let’s back up, breakfast this morning was a bowl of blueberry frosted mini wheats. Justin picked these up at the store and I was a bit skeptical, but they are quite yummy!


Lunch was a business lunch so no pictures, but we headed to Old Spaghetti Factory and I had a simple lunch portion of chicken fettucini alfredo. Que afternoon food coma here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, back to present time. All the relaxation has caused me to think of all the wedding stuff we have left to do before our wedding in just over 6 months! I dropped the save the dates in the mail this afternoon so it’s a done deal! We’ve officially invited about 145 people to our big day! ๐Ÿ™‚ wedding planning is stressful but also very very fun. I’m planning to do a post soon on how we’ve gone about everything and share some pictures of our decisions thus far, so stay tuned for that! In the meantime, Here are a few of our engagement shots: (ps our photographer is amazing If you live in the Phoenix area, please check her out here

In other news, our current apartment lease is up on October 31. The fiancรฉ and I were set on renting until we found a few condos today that we love and would totally rent….except they are for sale for a price that would make our mortgage 50% less than our rent payment!!!! So we’ve changed our tune. Call us crazy but we are seriously considering buying a condo! Not somewhere we’d live forever, but a 5-7 year condo, and someplace we could easily rent if we wanted to! I’m a bit nervous, only because as previously stated, we are getting married in like 6 months (!) but if it reduces our monthly payment by 50%, I’m game in at least exploring all of our options. I anticipate that this will be a hot topic for me in the coming weeks/months on the blog…the future Kelley’s house hunt may have just begun!!

So tell me, are you a recent first time home buyer? Any tips/tricks/advice? I’m dying to hear your stories!

Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

4 thoughts on “The (future) Kelley’s are condo hunting!

  1. Nicole W.

    We recently bought our home…well recently to me – we bought the house last February but moved into it a few months later in mid June. Looking for your first home is so much fun – so don’t let it stress you out! Keep in mind that it won’t be perfect (unless you have a huge budget) so don’t let that discourage you ๐Ÿ™‚ DIY projects can be so much fun!

    My story is a little different than the usual because we ended up buying a home that was unlivable (literally – i.e. no walls, flooring, lights etc.) and we fixed it up ourselves. We spent every waking moment that we weren’t at work pouring our blood, sweat and tears into the house. My husband is a contractor so he had the knowledge/skill to do everything. While I was a little envious of people who could just purchase then move into their houses right away – I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything! I learned so much through the process and have a home that I love ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on your upcoming house hunt!!

    Reply
  2. Ari @ Skinnified

    We bought a little over a year ago and I’m so happy we did! I still think financially, now is a good time as long as you are able to stay there until the market becomes one you’d like to sell in. I had the BEST realtor–if you’re interested, let me know and I can get you her info! :O)

    Reply
  3. Kary

    You will find the RSS feed at the top of the right hand column of the sceern. Glad you love the blog keep reading and let me know what you think!

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

